IISc Bangalore is the world`s top research University

IISc Bangalore is the world`s top research university according to the QS World University Rankings 2022


QS World University rankings 2022: The Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, has become the world`s top research university as per the citations per faculty indicator according to the coveted QS World University Rankings released on Wednesday. Meanwhile, the Indian Institute of Technology, Guwahati, is ranked 41st in the same category of ranking.

The Indian Institute of Science (IISc) has secured a perfect score of 100 out of 100 for the citations per faculty (CPF) metric in the analysis by London-based Quacquarelli Symonds (QS).

Three Indian institutions have figured in the top 200 universities of the world list in the overall rankings.

It is worth noting that as per the 18th edition of the rankings, the India Institute of Technology (IIT), Bombay, has become India`s top-ranked institution for the fourth consecutive year at the QS World University Rankings 2022.

The QS World University Rankings judges institutions and universities on six indicators which including academic reputation, employer reputation, citations per faculty, faculty/student ratio, international faculty ratio, and international student ratio.

Having considered 13,000 institutions for the ranking, as many as 6,415 were found eligible for the survey analysis, and 1,705 were assessed for the final table. The distribution and performance of 14.7 million academic papers published between 2015 and 2019, and the 96 million citations received by those papers were taken into account for the results. Expert opinions of over 1,30,000 academic faculty and over 75,000 employers were also accounted for.


Massachusetts Institute of Technology has achieved a record-extending 10th consecutive year as world number-one while the University of Oxford and the University of Cambridge have taken second and third place respectively. The University of Oxford has risen to second for the first time since 2006.